Winter riding

New Bikes, Old Bikes, Bike Setup, Bike Mods, Questions, Riding Technique, Advice.
brentg
Writer
Writer

Winter riding

Post by brentg »

I am thinking that I want to extend my season into the colder months. I have no experience with this and I have a bunch of questions for those of you who do.
1. Tires – Trellborgs, Michelin, Cheng Shin. Trellies are out of my price range, but I found a really good deal on Cheng Shins, about $300. Am I going to regret cheaping out?
2. Studs – Is this a better option than cheap studded tires?
3. Hands – Do I need hand warmers, or can I get by with gloves and covers and stuff? My bike has no battery, so hand warmers are not cheap and easy.
4. Feet – Do you just wear your normal boots with electric socks, or what do you suggest? What about traction, I can’t see how I would move my bike around on frozen ground without falling all over the place.
5. Head – I assume my helmet will keep me warm. Will it?
6. More – Anything else I haven’t thought of?
Any wisdom will be appreciated.
When life throws you a curve... lean into it, pick your line, and keep your weight on the outside peg.

2013 KTM 250 XC-W

steve-o
Novelist
Novelist

Re: Winter riding

Post by steve-o »

brentg wrote:I am thinking that I want to extend my season into the colder months. I have no experience with this and I have a bunch of questions for those of you who do.
1. Tires – Trellborgs, Michelin, Cheng Shin. Trellies are out of my price range, but I found a really good deal on Cheng Shins, about $300. Am I going to regret cheaping out?
3. Hands – Do I need hand warmers, or can I get by with gloves and covers and stuff? My bike has no battery, so hand warmers are not cheap and easy.
4. Feet – Do you just wear your normal boots with electric socks, or what do you suggest? What about traction, I can’t see how I would move my bike around on frozen ground without falling all over the place.
Hi Brent,