WR250F or WR450F... Can't Decide

New Bikes, Old Bikes, Bike Setup, Bike Mods, Questions, Riding Technique, Advice.
Geolander
User
User

WR250F or WR450F... Can't Decide

Post by Geolander »

I'm planning to buy a new bike and I'm going to ask for some advice from the people on this forum who have been in the scene longer than me. My riding history includes 2 years riding dual sport on a KTM 640 Adventure, and sticking mainly to dirt roads, followed by about 2 months on a YZ450F off road. My problem is that the YZ450 is too powerful to be fun for my experience and size. I am about 165 lbs, and 5'10'', and like to go semi-fast, and am looking to progress my riding. But I am really a beginner, so less might be more... Do you think I'd be happier with the WR250F or the WR450F, and why? My only concern with the 250 is hill climbing power. I don't want to have to rush at/up every hill, but maybe the 250 is capable enough??? I don't know??? I like the idea of using the 250 in tight places where the 450 could get tiring. Most of my riding will be done at McLean Creek or similar locations. Your advice will be appreciated.

steve-o
Novelist
Novelist

Re: WR250F or WR450F... Can't Decide

Post by steve-o »

I don't know anything about yamaha's other than they are Blue. If the 450 motocrosser was too much power for you then the wr will likely be too. I think they are pretty much the same motor, but obviously the wr has a way different trani.

I DO know that even chicks can make it up the steepest of hills at McLean on a KTM 250xcf, so if a Yamaha 250f is even close in power to a KTM it would likelt suit your needs.

IMHO you should by a KTM 300. It'll totally suit your lugging around needs for now and as your skill progresses you'll have ALL the bike you'll ever need.

Good luck.

MtnBlue
Novelist
Novelist

Post by MtnBlue »

Geolander wrote: I am about 165 lbs, and 5'10''