Neck Braces

New Bikes, Old Bikes, Bike Setup, Bike Mods, Questions, Riding Technique, Advice.
Giles
Writer
Writer

Neck Braces

Post by Giles »

hi gang, finally decided to get a neck brace and I'm wondering what everyone is recommending?
I usually wear a Fox Impact suit under my Jersey (love how the elbow pads stay in place) except for very hot days I'll switch to my over the jersey chesties. Is there a specific neck brace that will work well with both scenarios?

If not, I'd also consider ordering a complete Leatte integrated system or something of that ilk...….what is the most popular option here?

Any feed back is appreciated.

Cheers, Giles

twitch13
Contributor
Contributor

Re: Neck Braces

Post by twitch13 »

When I started riding a few years ago I started with the Fox Titan pressure suit with a Leatt neck brace. It did not fit well and the only way I could get it to work better was to remove a few of the upper back plates on the Fox and duct tape the Velcro on the back to allow the rear strut of the Leatt to slide in. This didn't work great as over time while riding the Leatt would slide up and I needed to re-adjust it often, the Leatt comes with a strap that wraps around your chest to hold it better in place but it is difficult to use if you are sliding the neck brace into your jersey.

My buddy uses the EVS neck collar, the rear strut is short so it sits on top of pressure suits better and can sit on top of the jersey, this allows you to better utilize the strap that wraps around your chest to hold it in place.

We could start a whole debate on whether the EVS neck collar is as good as a Leatt neck brace but that would be for another thread. I'm a Leatt fan so I ended up changing my armor to a Leatt pressure suit which worked better with the neck brace but was still hot. Last year I changed to the Alpinestars A10 and it works well.