Battery Maintenance

New Bikes, Old Bikes, Bike Setup, Bike Mods, Questions, Riding Technique, Advice.
brentg
Writer
Writer

Battery Maintenance

Post by brentg »

Over the winter I bought a used 2014 Husqvarna FE350. I am new to the world of fuel injection and batteries and no kick start. Yesterday my bike died at the top of Razorback ridge. There really wasn't any warning. It was running, then I stopped, then it wouldn't start. No slow turn over, no click, no nothing. :thumbsdown: We checked fuses and connections and couldn't find anything so I decided to bump it and head home. It took forever to bump and it would run for a while and then die again. I did manage to coast / ride it back. When I got home I pulled the battery and charged it a bit. Bike fired right up. I’m going to put in a new battery and I am going to get the starter tested before I ride again. My questions are related to maintaining these things. Do you guys use battery tenders? How often do replace batteries? Do you carry jumper cables of some sort? Anything else I should have asked before getting stranded in the bush? :confused:
Thanks.
When life throws you a curve... lean into it, pick your line, and keep your weight on the outside peg.

2013 KTM 250 XC-W

wheels13
2024 RMDRA Member
2024 RMDRA Member

Re: Battery Maintenance

Post by wheels13 »

Test your charging system after you put a new battery in it or a battery that is know to be good, system might not be charging or overcharging.

giantjoe
2024 RMDRA Member
2024 RMDRA Member

Post by giantjoe »

Is it actually charging? Can you use the old (farmer's truck) method of removing the positive terminal while running to see if it's creating electricity (keeps running)?
----------------->just some guy<-----------------

brentg
Writer
Writer

Post by brentg »