Rad Guard vs Braces?

New Bikes, Old Bikes, Bike Setup, Bike Mods, Questions, Riding Technique, Advice.
twitch13
Contributor
Contributor

Rad Guard vs Braces?

Post by twitch13 »

Hey looking for some feedback on rad guards. I had the Emperor racing guard (just a one piece which is grated in front and wraps around the side of the rad) on my old bike and I was thinking of switching out to a rad brace. My initial look at the Emperor brace is that it is a lot beefer but it is also very heavy. I had pretty good luck with the lighter rad guards but I am worried that it is only luck! Does anyone have an opinion on the heavier braces? Is it worth the extra money and weight?

Grimlock
2024 RMDRA Member
2024 RMDRA Member

Re: Rad Guard vs Braces?

Post by Grimlock »

I have used both the guards and braces from Emperor as well as the billet units from BPD. The one piece wrap around guards work well for everything I have encountered (and I have a PhD in puncturing radiators), but I have yet to subject them to a bad side impact. The only downside I can see with the wrap around types is the lack of side impact protection compared to the actual braces. They also may require some plastic trimming to fit and may or may not work with an oversize fuel tank (which is the case on my Kawasaki).

Compare those to the billet guards from BPD and the BPD's are much stronger in grille strength and offer good side impact protection as well. Big bonus is the fact that they rarely, if ever, require plastic trimming, and in the case of my Beta, will work with an oversize tank. My only concern is the lack of bracing when it comes to hard frontal impacts and bending backwards.