Bar risers

New Bikes, Old Bikes, Bike Setup, Bike Mods, Questions, Riding Technique, Advice.
Canadian
User
User

Bar risers

Post by Canadian »

I've been thinking about changing my bike setup a little and wonder if I could get some feedback here. I've been using bar risers (3/4") for many years now with generally positive thoughts about them. My current setup is as follows:

-'13 300 xc-w
-3/4" riser
-stock seat
-stock pegs
-5'10" 200#

Finished off last season on a down-note and am thinking that I need a change. If I were to install the full stack (1-1/8") riser, would this encourage me to stand more? What are the consequences of too high a bar? I've gotten lazy as the years go by, and do a lot of seated riding now. What else could I do to improve ergo's and force myself to stand (don't say self discipline!). Right now I feel like I'm leaning forward too far when I stand. Are low pegs the answer? Low seat?

Thoughts?

Braap791
2024 RMDRA Member
2024 RMDRA Member

Re: Bar risers

Post by Braap791 »

You could add the bigger bar risers and you could also roll your handlebars forward a bit to force you to stand up. Or you could take your seat off and force your self to "trials" a ride day :D

golarge
2024 RMDRA Member
2024 RMDRA Member

Post by golarge »

You could install Ape Hanger Bars from a Harley and it still won't force you to stand. Sitting and or standing is a habit. I'm 5'9, no riser, standard tilt to the bars, low seat, stock pegs.
I stand all the time, for everything. How do you break a habit, discipline. :D

Standing up on a bike seems uncomfortable for some maybe because they think that they should be standing upright. If I stand upright on my bike I cant reach the bars.
Proper form for standing on a bike is a slight bend to the knees, waste, and elbows, head up looking down the trail, the rougher it gets the more you bend (elbows out). Takes time to get comfortable with it.