Hey Camping Gurus...

Skiing, Chit Chat. Just about any topic that doesn't fit into the other categories.
giantjoe
2024 RMDRA Member
2024 RMDRA Member

Hey Camping Gurus...

Post by giantjoe »

I'm pretty new to RV camping. My electrical inverter is a little messed up, the battery doesn't charge very quickly. While normally I just park it at the site and plug it in. Here's the question.

If I was going to buy a generator, what output should the thing have? Seems like 3,500W is kind of a standard size. I've got a 33' with everything but a TV if that makes any difference.
----------------->just some guy<-----------------

Dobi
2024 RMDRA Member
2024 RMDRA Member

Re: Hey Camping Gurus...

Post by Dobi »

a 2400watt yamaha will struggle to power the air conditioning. you should go 3000 or bigger. For convenience, you can get two 2000 watt honda and link them together for 3400 watts. It is about the same price and gives you the advantage of just taking one on those weekends that you won't power the AC or for an RMDRA project in the woods....

The inverters are basically a trickle charger and will take 2 days to bring a full charge into dead batteries. The keen campers will run a battery charger hooked directly to the batteries and run the generator to charge.

Dobi
2024 RMDRA Member
2024 RMDRA Member

Post by Dobi »

And FYI, if you leave your unit plugged in constantly you will have to top up your batteries fluid on a monthly basis.

giantjoe
2024 RMDRA Member
2024 RMDRA Member

Post by giantjoe »

Perhaps that's the issue... Thanks for the heads up. I had it plugged in all summer and accidentally left a light on when I unplugged it. The battery was dead after 2 hours.
----------------->just some guy<-----------------

dirtyboy
2024 RMDRA Member
2024 RMDRA Member

Post by dirtyboy »

Dobi wrote:And FYI, if you leave your unit plugged in constantly you will have to top up your batteries fluid on a monthly basis.